Skip to Content

Marital property State & Community Property State

Last Updated March 22, 2009


State where assets earned during a marriage are deemed to be the joint property of the married couple

Community property  states are Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Puerto Rico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin ,

The marital property state is Wisconsin

Referring Cite

State law, IRM, IRS Publication 555

Additional Helpful Information

  • An IRA owner who resides in a community property state may need the written consent of his/her spouse, in order to name anyone –other than the souse- as a primary beneficiary of the IRA
  • Alaska is usually treated as a community property state, if the couple so elects.